Start of year - End of year

From Fronter Help

Jump to: navigation, search

In the transition between two academic years, there are some steps to be taken to ensure a smooth transition. This is particularly important where schools use a managed integration from a student/user information system (Like CIS, MIS or SATS), but is nonetheless still relevant in part to all.

Note: There are different guides and tutorials created for this process, some of them customised for local variants. See the Manuals. If you run into problems, report via Support tab.

SOY-EOY with full integration

This is the procedure for most solutions that use a student/user information system.

Steps to be taken:

At the end of the school year:

  • Do a general tidy up of the rooms.
  • Stop the import.
  • Archive rooms.

At the start of the new year:

  • Start the import.
  • Activate the new rooms by selecting the relevant options.

The end and the beginning:

Before processing new year data from student/user information system, and before archiving old rooms, deactivate the import of data into Fronter. (In the UK this is generally done globally on your behalf.) This ensures that the old year's data does not get updated with partial new year data.

To manually deactivate the import:

  • From the admin module; select the tab Tools and Fronter integration setup.
  • Select the relevant import system (active import is displayed as black)
  • Click Deactivate.

To manually activate the import:

  • When you are certain all data is correct, go to Fronter integration setup and activate the import by ticking it and clicking Activate.
  • Check that the data files are available or sent (depending on service agreement).
  • Click Run now to start the regular updates.

Full import -What happens?

For every new group that is created in the student/user information system, a corresponding room will be created in Fronter. Where the group ID remains the same from the previous year, rooms will not be created but existing rooms will be populated with the relevant participants.

Actions following the new year student/user information system data import:

The newly created rooms will appear in the room selector, but will have to be activated by the room owner or the administrator. When activating, five options are given:

  • Start using this room as a blank room means the room is created with the default tool package and the new participants enrolled, but the room is otherwise empty.
  • Copy from room. When this is ticked, a drop-down menu will appear with a list of all the rooms the teacher has access to copy. Among these can be a template room created by the administrator or a teacher's archived classroom from last year. Selecting one room will populate this year's room with the content from the selected room, such as front page, folders, forums etc, but with the new participants enrolled. The student's contributions will not follow. The copied room will not change. Click Save and the following message appears: Room copy in progress. The room is being copied. This operation may take some time. Once the room has been created, it will be visible in the corridor. Please navigate away from this screen by selecting another room, one of your personal tools or other options on your top bar. This will not terminate the process.
  • Import content and structure from a zip-file allows you to import an already exported Fronter room, with the same benefits as listed above. Tick the option, then click Save. In the new window, Browse and find the zip-file from your computer. Click Upload. When upload is completed, the teacher is automatically transported to the new room.
  • Move the members into this room actually merges the newly created room with the selected old room, so you get the new list of participants enrolled in an old room (the new rooms thereby is inaccessible to the members). The original room is unaltered, including the old members and all student contributions. By selecting this option, teacher is transported to the old room.
  • Close room this closes the room. The room will then not be available to the students, and for the owner of the room and administrator it is only available from the "Closed rooms" tab in "Display all rooms".
  • Base on exemplar room will take the room with its members and turn it into a copy of a pre-made room from a shared repository. Use the drop-downs to navigate through regions and areas, the actual room sits in the final drop-down. Save, and the following message will appear: Creating room. A room is being created based on the selected exemplar room. It may take some time before the new room is available. Navigate away by clicking any other option. This will not terminate the process. Enter the room via the room selector. Note: Due to national agreements, rooms from outside your region might not work properly in your building.

Note: if a Template room is already set for the import, none of the above will appear.

Note: The manually created rooms are not influenced by the import, and membership has to be manually adjusted.

to the top

Template room

First: To enable this feature, a top administrator must activate setting 808 Enable template rooms.

Step 1: Creating the room:

When creating the room, tick This room is a template. Then design the room according to requirements. You can also make an existing room a template by selecting Edit properties from the drop-down menu. Remember to tidy up the room first.

Step 2: Assigning the template room to a node or corridor:

  • From the admin module; select the corridor/node where the rooms will be generated.
  • From the tab Settings; choose Local settings
  • Add C11 Use template room and then select the room created for this corridor/node from the drop-down menu.

All rooms created by import under this org. unit, and underlying units, will be a copy of the template room.

The new room is now accessible for all the participants by the room selector, and the room is automatically activated as a copy of the chosen template room when any of them enters the room for the first time. This means the admin or room owner will not have to manually activate the room.

to the top

Manual tidy-up

Whether you run a full import, or not, a general tidy-up at the end of an an academic school year is a good idea.

It is advised to archive the rooms at least until the new import and set-ups are completed. The administrator can archive the rooms by the room selector. An archived room is in a state of accessible storage. It's accessible to the previous participants, who will have guest/read access to the rooom. However, no changes or contributions can be made. Also, content stored in folders with customised access (eacher or owner) will be inaccessible. Once the room is deleted, the students can no longer access their files and documents from their Portfolio unless they have already copied them to Final assessment (but they can see scores, grades and assessments).

Tidying the rooms:

If the room is to be deleted:

  • Make sure all valuable content is safely copied into a manually created room (and/or Equella if you have got that).
  • Make sure that the content and evaluations students need to keep is copied to final assessment in Portfolio and/or My Documents.

If the room is to be archived for storage (not necessarily re-use):

  • Delete everything that you don’t need for the future and consider moving valuable content that you intend to re-use to a manually created resource room. Archived rooms use disk space just like an open room.
  • Remember to empty the recycle bins as well.
  • Since members in archived rooms only have read access –even if they were previously the owner- you will need to open hidden tools and folders if you want the content accessible after archiving.

If the room is to be archived and cloned/copied in the next import:

  • Delete everything that you don’t need, and that will just clutter up the room, such as various schedules and info letters.
  • Consider changing access to, or to hide, resources that shouldn’t be accessible to the students immediately. (If you want the previous students to have access to old content in archived room, it is better to hide the content in the copy after activating it.)

If the room is going to be re-used (new members enrolled):

  • Follow the same steps as for archived rooms, but consider removing even test answers, hand-ins and forum contributions.


Manually created groups: These groups are not affected by the import (unless you have groups in groups) and a manual tidy-up is required. Remove participants who are not longer a member of the groups.

Note: For solutions with no import what so ever: All rooms and groups have to be treated manually.

to the top